Located six-tenths of a mile south of the main museum campus on Solomons Island Road, this 1934 seafood packing house has been restored and is designated a National Historic Landmark. It now houses exhibits that explore all aspects of oyster processing – from receiving oysters at the dock to storing, shucking, washing, packing, and shipping the product to markets across the region.
Hours and Fees
The Lore Oyster House is open weekends in May and September from 1 – 4 p.m. and daily June, July, and August from 1 – 4 p.m., tides and weather permitting. Admission is free and an interpreter is on site.
A National Landmark
J.C. Lore & Sons oyster house was designated a National Historic Landmark by the U.S. Secretary of the Interior in 2001.
Read the press release
Read the National Historic Landmark Nomination
Read about it in the Bugeye Times