Join Shop Clubs News Donate Home Visit CMM on Facebook Follow CMM on Twitter
Visitor Information
What to See and Do
Concerts and Events
Education Programs
CMM Membership
Volunteering at CMM
Make a Donation to CMM
Shop CMM Online

PO Box 97
14200 Solomons Island Road
Solomons, MD 20688
P: 410-326-2042
F: 410-326-6691

Contact us by email

Volunteer Council

The purpose of the Calvert Marine Museum Volunteer Council is to recruit and promote the effective use of volunteer services for the Calvert Marine Museum through organization, training, and communication in order to contribute to the ideals and purposes of the museum.

The Volunteer Council helps provide structure for the volunteer program. It allows for volunteers to be represented in the museum’s affairs such as Board of Governor’s meetings, department head meetings, and to the volunteer body as a whole. Any volunteer who is a member of the Calvert Marine Museum Society is eligible to become a member of the Volunteer Council.

The Council consists of over two-hundred members, up to seventeen of which serve on the Volunteer Council Executive Board. The Volunteer Council Executive Board is composed of five elected members; the immediate past council president, the chairs of the standing committees, and department liaison appointees. The departmental liaisons are selected by museum department heads and the Volunteer Council President. They attend the monthly executive board meetings of the council and create lines of communication between museum departments and museum volunteers. The executive board also includes the director of the museum, a representative from the Board of Governors, and the staff volunteer coordinator as ex-officio members.

Current Volunteers: Login

2011 Volunteer Council
Board of Directors

President Sherma Munger
Vice President Dennis Baker
Treasurer Denita Sanders
Secretary Teddie Watts
Corresponding Secretary Anne Harrison

Departmental Liaisons

Development Shirley Mihursky
Education Linda Densmore
Estuarine Biology Jane Kostenko
Exhibits Tom Younger
Maritime History Jon Dann
Museum Store Anne Harrison
Paleontology Darlene Brindley

Volunteer Coordinator
Sherry Reid
Phone # 410-326-2042 ext. 19

Board of Governors Liaison
Bruce Newell

Director: Doug Alves
Deputy Director: Sherrod Sturrock